Institute for
Robotics and Process Control

Deutsch   English

Model-based segmentation of the paranasal sinuses

Problem Description

In a robot-assisted endoscopic sinus surgery, one needs to know the outer border of the paranasal sinuses. This border is mandatory for the definition of the workspace of the robot in order to avoid patient injuries. Currently, this border has to be manually determined by a surgeon. This manual segmentation takes far too much time (a few hours) to be feasible in the daily surgical workflow.
To speed up the segmentation process, we search for new approaches to relieve the surgeon from this tedious and time-consuming work. The difficulty thereby is that the border of the paranasal sinuses to surrounding organs can be made up of bone, mucosa, or air. Also, the inter-patient variability of the paranasal sinuses is very high. To make it short: Expert knowledge is needed in order to select the right boundary.

Methods

Our approach is to use a virtual, deformable model of the paranasal sinuses in order to replace the expert knowledge. For the generation of such a model, a set of training shapes is analyzed, and a set of parameters is extracted. These parameters can be used to defom the model.
By automatically adjusting the set of parameters, we obtain an initial global solution for the outer border of the paranasal sinuses. However, due to the high inter-patient variability, not all anatomical details can be represented by the deformable model. So, a further local adaptation of the initial solution is needed.
This local adaptation is realized by a new approach that has been developed at the Institute for Robotics and Process Control. Instead of using one set of parameters to deform the whole model, the new approach involves many parameter sets that deform only small parts of the model. By skillfully combining these deformations, we obtain a locally adapted solution that is able to extract the paranasal sinus boundary more accurately than the initial global solution.

Flow Chart


pics/flowChart_en.png
Flow Chart for the model-based segmentation of the paranasal sinuses.

Videos



Location of the paranasal sinuses in the human head.


Deformation of the model by modification of the first parameter.


Global fitting of the deformable model, followed by local adaptation.

Further Information

A list of publications for this project can be found here: Publications of Carsten Last
Involved persons: Carsten Last, Dr.-Ing. Simon Winkelbach, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Friedrich M. Wahl
Project partners at the ENT Clinic in Bonn, Germany: Dr. Klaus Eichhorn(External), Prof. Dr. med. Dr. h.c. Friedrich Bootz(External)

It took 0.29s to generate this page.

Institut für
Robotik und Prozessinformatik

Deutsch   English

Modellbasierte Segmentierung der Nasennebenhöhlen

Problembeschreibung

Bei einer roboterunterstützten Nasenoperation muss man wissen wo sich die Grenze des Nasenraums befindet. Diese Grenze wird benötigt, um den Arbeitsraum des Roboters zu definieren und somit eine Verletzung des Patienten auszuschließen. Zurzeit muss die Grenze noch manuell durch einen Chirurgen bestimmt werden. Dieses dauert aber viel zu lange (einige Stunden) um für den täglichen Einsatz im OP geeignet zu sein.
Um den Prozess der Segmentierung zu beschleunigen, wird am Institut für Robotik und Prozessinformatik nach automatischen Verfahren gesucht, die dem Chirurgen diese langwierige und anstrengende Arbeit abnehmen. Die Schwierigkeit liegt dabei darin, dass die Grenze der Nasennebenhöhlen zu umliegenden Organen aus Luft, Knorpelgewebe oder Knochen bestehen kann und dass die Variabilität zwischen den einzelnen Patienten sehr groß ist. Kurz gesagt: Es ist Expertenwissen erforderlich, um die richtige Grenze zu erkennen.

Methoden

Unser Lösungsansatz besteht darin, dass wir ein virtuelles Modell der Nasennebenhöhlen verwenden um das Expertenwissen zu ersetzen. Zur Generierung dieses Modells wird eine Menge von Trainingsdaten analysiert, und es wird ein Satz von "Reglern" extrahiert, mit Hilfe derer man das Modell verformen kann.
Durch eine automatische Einstellung der Regler erhält man eine globale Initiallösung für die äußere Grenze der Nasennebenhöhlen. Aufgrund der großen anatomischen Variabilität zwischen unterschiedlichen Patienten können aber nicht alle Details durch das Modell repräsentiert werden. Somit ist anschließend noch eine lokale Optimierung notwendig.
Diese lokale Optimierung wird durch ein Verfahren realisiert, welches am Institut für Robotik und Prozessinformatik grundlegend neu entwickelt wurde. Anstatt einen Satz von "Reglern" für das gesamte Modell zu verwenden, werden eine Vielzahl von "Reglern" verwendet um kleine Bereiche des Modells flexibler anpassen zu können.

Ablaufdiagramm


pics/flowChart_de.png
Ablauf der automatischen Nasennebenhöhlensegmentierung.

Videos



Nasennebenhöhlen im menschlichen Schädel.


Deformation des Modells durch Modifikation des ersten Reglers.


Globale Initiallösung und lokale Adaption des deformierbaren Modells.

Weitere Informationen

Eine Liste der Veröffentlichungen dieses Projekts finden Sie hier: Publikationen von Carsten Last
Mitwirkende Personen: Carsten Last, Dr.-Ing. Simon Winkelbach, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Friedrich M. Wahl
Projektpartner an der HNO Klinik Bonn: Dr. Klaus Eichhorn(External), Prof. Dr. med. Dr. h.c. Friedrich Bootz(External)

It took 0.43s to generate this page.