Institute for
Robotics and Process Control

Deutsch   English

Camera-based lane border detection


emil01.png

Introduction

Autonomous navigation as well as assisting the driver in safely driving a vehicle requires the correct recognition and interpretation of the vehicle environment. This includes the detection of the drivable area in front of the vehicle or its boundary - the lane border.
Obstacles such as cars and curb stones not lying on the ground plane can be extracted from 3D data. These can be obtained e.g. by stereo cameras, laser or ultrasonic sensors. In many cases, however, a purely image-based lane border detection is required.

Project description

Within the Volkswagen research project "eT" (electric transporter), a post van was developed to facilitate the work of the postman. The vehicle can automatically follow the postman along the roadside, while he is walking on the sidewalk. Thus between close delivery locations the postman doesn't have to get back into the car to drive the short distance to the next destination.
For this purpose a camera-based lane border detection has been developed which allows the vehicle to automatically drive along the lane border in arbitrarily structured environments.

Results


fbr01.png
Results of the lane border detection (plotted in red)

emil02.png
[Volkswagen]


Video clip from the eT presentation in November 2011 (YouTube)(External)


It took 0.28s to generate this page.

Institut für
Robotik und Prozessinformatik

Deutsch   English

Kamerabasierte Fahrbahnranderkennung


emil01.png

Einleitung

Autonomes Fahren bzw. die Unterstützung des Fahrers beim sicheren Führen eines Fahrzeuges setzt voraus, dass die Umgebung des Fahrzeuges korrekt erkannt und interpretiert wird. Dazu gehört die Detektion des befahrbaren Bereiches vor dem Fahrzeug bzw. dessen Grenze - des Fahrbahnrandes.
Hindernisse wie Autos und Bordsteine, die sich von der Bodenebene abheben, können aus 3D-Daten extrahiert werden. Diese werden z.B. mit Hilfe von Stereokameras, Laser oder Ultraschall-Sensoren gewonnen. In vielen Fällen ist jedoch eine rein bildbasierte Fahrbahnranderkennung notwendig.

Projektbeschreibung

Innerhalb des Volkswagen-Forschungsprojektes "eT" (elektrischer Transporter), wurde ein Postauto entwickelt, das die Arbeit des Zustellers erleichtern soll. Das Fahrzeug kann dem Postboten automatisch am Fahrbahnrand entlang folgen, während sich dieser auf dem Gehweg bewegt. Zwischen dicht beieinander liegenden Zustellorten muss der Postbote dadurch nicht erst wieder in das Auto einsteigen um selbst die kurze Strecke bis zum nächsten Ziel zu fahren.
Zu diesem Zweck wurde eine kamerabasierte Fahrbahnranderkennung entwickelt, die es dem Fahrzeug ermöglicht, in beliebig strukturierten Umgebungen am Fahrbahnrand entlangzufahren.

Ergebnisse


fbr01.png
Ergebnisse der Fahrbahnranderkennung (rot eingezeichnet)

emil02.png
[Volkswagen]


Video Clip von der eT Präsentation im November 2011 (YouTube)(External)


It took 0.28s to generate this page.