Institute for
Robotics and Process Control

Deutsch   English

Reposition of Femoral Shaft Fractures

title

Project Description

Problem Formulation

In this research project methods for robot assisted fixation of femoral (the human thigh bone) shaft fractures are developed and evaluated in cooperation with the Department of Trauma Surgery of the Hannover Medical School(External). Those fractures are often a result of high energy traumas like traffic accidents and are nowadays usually fixed with a so-called intramedullary nail. The x-ray images below illustrate such a fracture, which is stabilized with a nail.

xray.jpg
X-ray image of a broken femur [Source: AO Principles of Fracture Management]

In order to insert the nail into the bone's medullar cavity, a hole has to be drilled into the bone at the hip end side of the leg. The intramedullary nail is inserted through this hole until it reaches the fracture region. Subsequently the bone fragments are aligned by the surgeon and the nail is further inserted. Finally the nail is interlocked with the bone by means of screws at both sides of the fracture.

sketch_nailing.png
The course of an intramedullary nailing operation

The quality of the operation result can be measured by two parameters: The lenght of the leg and the rotation about the leg axis. Depending on the type of fracture, the precise re-establishment of these parameters can be very difficult to achieve by the surgeon. If these parameters deviate too much from the physiologically correct values, a second correction operation might become necessary.

Project Goals

The primary goal of this research project is the development and evaluation of computer and robot assisted methods in order to support this challenging surgical procedure. With the combination of image analysis, force/torque guided robot control, and preoperative planning and simulation, the achievable reduction accuracies should be increased.
For the patient a precisely repositioned fracture has the advantage of reestablishing the physiological conditions of the leg and in particular of the joint axes in the knee and the hip. Furthermore, the probability of complications and possible re-operations is reduced.
Besides the increased quality of the operation outcome, the simplification of the surgical procedure will be a further advantage on the surgeons' side. With conventional methods, the repositioning is a very challenging task. Achieving a correctly repositioned fracture requires high efforts to move the bone fragments against counter acting muscle forces and comes along with a conspicuous exposure to x-ray radiation. Reducing the x-ray exposure to the OR staff is a second very import goal of this project.

Further Questions

This project not only focuses on the repositioning of fracture segments, but also covers relevant questions in the context of the whole surgical procedure. An important aspect is for example the precise hip side opening of the medullar cavity by means of a surgical drill. Here vision based algorithms lead to an automated robotized drill guidance tool, which can conspicuously improve the accuracy and reliability of such surgical tasks.

Pose Estimation of Cylindrical Objects for a Semi-Automated Fracture Reduction

Summary

Below we present the results of our method for computing the relative target transformations between broken cylindrical objects in 3d space.
We first compute the positions and orientations of the axes of every cylindrical object. This is achieved by a specially adapted Hough transform. These axes are the most important attributes for the segmentation of fractured bones and can also be used as an initial pose estimation (constraining 4 of the overall 6 degrees of freedom of the reduction problem).
After these preprocessing steps, the relative transformation between corresponding fracture segments can be computed using well-known surface registration algorithms. Here we are using a special 2D depth image correlation and a variant of the ICP (Iterative Closest Point) algorithm. A project goal is using these methods for computing the target poses of bone fragments in order to allow for a computer assisted semi-automated fracture reduction by means of a robot.

Matching Results

Further information about the automated computation of target poses of fractured bones can be found here:
3D Puzzle

Fracture Reduction using a Telemanipulator with Haptical Feedback

Summary

We developed a complex system, which allowed to use a robot as telemanipulator for supporting the fracture reduction process. Our robot is a standard industrial Säubli RX 90 robot. The robot is controlled by the surgeon by means of a Joystick with haptical feedback. Intraoperative 3D imaging of the fracture is the base information for the surgeon during reduction. These 3D volume images are automatically segmented by the PC resulting in highly detailed surface models of the fracture segments (cp. the figure below), which can be used by the surgeon to precisely move the fragments to the desired target poses. An optical navigation system ensures that the 3D scene presented on the PC display is always in accordance with the real surgical situation; the virtual 3D models always move in the same way as the real bone fragments, which are moved by the robot.
All forces and torques acting in the operation site can be measured by means of a force/torque sensor mounted at to robots hand. These forces are fed back to the joystick. This way, the surgeon is able to feel the forces acting on the patient because of distracted muscles or contacts between the fracture segments.

3d-interaction.png
The interaction principle of a 3D telemanipulated fracture reduction

Results

In a first test series, the telemanipulator system was evaluated in our anatomy lab using broken human bones (without surrounding soft tissue). It could be shown that reduction accuracies with mean values of about 2° and 2mm can be achieved for simple fractures. Even for complex fractures the achievable accuracy stays below 4°. From a clinical point of view, these values are more than acceptable.
Furthermore, the telemanipulator system was also tested on human cadavers; complete specimens with intact soft tissues around the broken bone. The results have been similar to those outlined above. In addition we could show that to telemanipulated reductions achieve significantly higher reduction accuracies than manual reductions, which have been performed by an experienced surgeon on the same fractures.

Conclusion

The presented form of visualization and interaction with a telemanipulator system for fracture reduction in the femur turned out to be efficient and intuitive. All test persons have been able to perform reliable reductions with high reduction accuracies after only a short time of learning. These results clearly show the potential of robotized fracture reduction, which will ensure high quality outcomes of such operations in the future.

Further Information


It took 0.31s to generate this page.

Institut für
Robotik und Prozessinformatik

Deutsch   English

Reposition von Femurschaftfrakturen

title

Projektbeschreibung

Problemstellung

In Kooperation mit der Unfallchirurgischen Klinik der Medizinischen Hochschule Hannover(External) werden in diesem Projekt die Möglichkeiten einer roboterunterstützten chirurgischen Fixierung von Schaftfrakturen des Oberschenkels (Femur) untersucht. Diese Frakturen entstehen z.B. bei Unfällen im Straßenverkehr und werden häufig mit Hilfe eines Marknagels fixiert. Die folgende Abbildung zeigt eine solche Fraktur.

xray.jpg
Rötgenaufnahmen eines Femurs [Quelle: AO Principles of Fracture Management]

Um den Nagel in den Markraum des Knochens einzubringen, muss zunächst am oberen Ende des Oberschenkels (an der Hüfte) ein Loch in den Knochen gebohrt werden. In dieses wird der Marknagel eingeführt und bis zur Bruchstelle vorgetrieben. Ist die Spitze des Marknagels an der Bruchstelle angekommen, wird unter großem Krafteinsatz das untere Frakturstück durch den Chirurgen in die richtige Position gebracht und dort gehalten, während der Nagel weiter Richtung Knie geschlagen wird. Zum Schluss wird der Nagel auf beiden Seiten der Fraktur verschraubt.

sketch_nailing.png
Der Ablauf einer Marknagelungsoperation

Die Qualität des Ergebnisses eines solchen Eingriffs lässt sich im Wesentlichen durch zwei Kriterien beschreiben: Beinlänge und Rotation um die Knochenachse. Abhängig von der Art der Fraktur, ist es zum Teil sehr schwierig diese Parameter wieder exakt zu rekonstruieren. Bei zu starken Abweichungen von den ursprünglichen Werten, kann eine weitere Korrekturoperation nötig werden.

Zielsetzung

Das Ziel des Forschungsprojekts ist die Entwicklung von Verfahren, die eine roboterunterstützte Durchführung dieser Operationen ermöglichen. Durch Kombination bildgebender Verfahren, Kraft-Momenten-gesteuerter Roboterbewegungen und präoperativer Operationsplanung bzw. Simulation soll die erreichbare Genauigkeit der Reposition erhöht werden.
Der Vorteil einer exakt repositionierten Fraktur für den Patienten besteht darin, dass das Bein nach Abschluss der Therapie in gewohnter Weise bewegt werden kann, wodurch der Gang weitgehend unbeeinträchtigt bleibt. Des Weiteren wird die Wahrscheinlichkeit einer evtl. nötigen Korrekturoperation vermindert.
Für den Chirurgen ergibt sich neben der gesteigerten Qualität des Eingriffs der Vorteil, einer wesentlichen Vereinfachung des Operationsablaufs. Die Reposition und das Halten der Frakturteile in der korrekten Position ist nach der herkömmlichen Methode eine sehr schwierige Aufgabe und mit einem großen Kraftaufwand verbunden. Die Reduzierung der teils beträchtlichen Strahlenbelastung des OP-Personals ist ein weiteres wichtiges Ziel dieses Projekts.

Weitere Fragestellungen

Dieses Projekt beschränkt sich nicht ausschließlich auf den Vorgang der roboterunterstützten Reposition. Es werden auch Fragestellungen die am Rande einer solchen Operation auftreten untersucht. Ein wichtiger und schwieriger Punkt ist beispielsweise das Finden der Eintrittsposition des Marknagels in den Knochen. Hierzu soll ein Roboter vision-gesteuert als Führungs- und Positionierungshilfe eingesetzt werden.

Lageschätzung von Zylinderfragmenten zur semi-automatischen Reposition von Knochenfrakturen

Zusammenfassung

Im Folgenden werden die Ergebnisse unseres Ansatzes zur relativen Lagebestimmung von Fragmenten einer zerbrochenen dreidimensionalen zylindrischen Strukturen präsentiert.
Der Ansatz zur Lösung dieses Registrierungsproblems berechnet zuerst die Position und Orientierung der Zylinderachsen jedes Fragments. Dies geschieht durch eine spezielle Art von Hough Transformation. Die Zylinderachsen sind ein wichtiges Merkmal für die Segmentierung von frakturierten Bereichen und können außerdem für eine initiale Repositionierungslösung herangezogen werden (Einschränkung von 4 Freiheitsgeraden).
Nach diesen Vorverarbeitungsschritten kann die relative Transformation zwischen korrespondierenden Fragmenten mittels bekannter Oberflächenregistrierungsverfahren berechnet werden. In unserem Fall nutzen wir eine spezielle 2d-Tiefenbildkorrelation und eine Variante des ICP (Iterative Closest Point) Algorithmus. Ein Ziel unseres Projektes ist die Anwendung der vorgestellten Technik zur Bestimmung der relativen Transformation von Fragmenten eines gebrochener Oberschenkelknochen für die computer-gestützte semi-automatische Knochenausrichtung und Frakturreduktion in der Chirurgie.

Matching-Ergebnisse

Weitere Informationen zur automatischen Ziellagenberechnung von Knochenfragmenten befinden sich hier: 3D Puzzle

Frakturreponierung mit Hilfe eines Telemanipulators mit haptischem Feedback

Zusammenfassung

Es wurde ein System entwickelt, welches den Einsatz eines Roboters als Telemanipulator vorsieht. Der verwendete Roboter vom Typ Stäubli RX 90 wird durch den Chirurgen mithilfe eines Joystick mit haptischem Feedback gesteuert. Ein intraoperativer 3D Röntgenscan dient als Basis für die Reponierung. Dieses 3D Volumenbild wird im Rechner automatisch segmentiert, sodass hoch detaillierte Oberflächenmodelle (siehe folgende Abbildung, unten rechts) daraus errechnet werden können. Diese Modelle dienen schließlich dem Chirurgen zur visuellen Orientierung während der Frakturreponierung. Ein optisches Navigationssystem stellt sicher, dass diese 3D Szene auf dem Computerbildschirm zu jeder Zeit der realen Bruchsitation im OP-Gebiet entspricht, sich also die virtuellen 3D Modelle in gleicher Weise bewegen, wie die realen, durch den Roboter bewegten Fragmente.
Durch einen am Roboterhandflansch montierten Kraftmomentensensor werden alle im OP-Gebiet wirkenden Kräfte und Drehmomente an den Joystick zurückgegeben. Der Chirurg spürt dadurch, wenn die Muskeln zu weit distrahiert werden oder es zum Kontakt zwischen den beiden Knochenfragmenten kommt.

3d-interaction.png
Das Interaktionsprinzip für eine 3D telemanipulierte Reponierung

Resultate

In einer ersten Versuchsreihe wurde der Telemanipulator im Anatomielabor an gebrochenen menschlichen Knochen (ohne umgebene Weichteile) getestet. Es hat sich gezeigt, dass bei einfachen Frakturen eine mittlere Genauigkeit besser als 2° und 2mm erreicht werden kann und selbst bei komplexen Frakturen die mittlere Genauigkeit bei einer Abweichung von unter 4° bleibt. Diese Werte können klinisch als überaus akzeptabel angesehen werden.
Darüber hinaus wurde das Telemanipulatorsystem auch an menschlichen Ganzkörperspendern evaluiert, also Knochen mit intaktem Weichteilgewebe. Auch hier konnten ähnliche Genauigkeiten erzielt werden. Zudem wurden in einer Vergleichsgruppe dieselben Frakturen von einem Chirurgen in der konventionellen manuellen OP-Methode eingerichtet. Dabei hat sich gezeigt, dass die telemanipulierte Reponierung der konventionellen Methode hinsichtlich der erreichbaren Genauigkeiten signifikant überlegen ist.

Schlussfolgerung

Die vorgestellte Art der Visualisierung und Interaktion zur telemanipulierten Frakturreponierung hat sich als effizient und intuitiv erwiesen. Alle Testpersonen waren nach nur kurzer Trainigszeit in der Lage, das System sicher zu bedienen und hoch präzise Ergebnisse zu erzielen. Diese Ergebnisse zeigen das Potential der robotischen Frakturreponierung, mit der in Zukunft eine hohe Qualität solcher Eingriffe gewährleistet werden könnte.

Weitere Informationen


It took 0.33s to generate this page.