Institute for
Robotics and Process Control

Deutsch   English

High Tibia Osteotomy

Project Description

Problem

In cooperation with the trauma department of the Medizinische Hochschule Hannover(External) and the Institut für Werkstoffkunde of the Leibniz Universität Hannover(External) novel methods for robot-assisted surgery for correction of deformities of the lower limbs are explored in this project.

Congenital, from fractures or by tumors acquired deformities of the lower extremities of the human skeleton under stress usually lead to an uneven distribution of pressure in the adjacent joints (knee / hip). If these malalignments are left untreated, the result is often wear of the articular cartilage which in an advanced stage often requires a joint replacement. An early performed corrective surgery may help to prevent the implantation of a prostheses or at least delay this intervention significantly. Establishing an optimal pressure distribution in the knee is a crucial factor for a successful operation with the desired positive long-term result for the patient. However, there are currently no intraoperative tools available which allow measuring the pressure distribution within the loaded knee reliably and non-invasively. Moreover, the optimal type of osteotomy (bone cutting technique) according to biomechanical aspects is the focal-dome osteotomy. But this technique is due to the difficult technical implementation not clinically established. So in practice surgeons fall back to suboptimal types of osteotomy.
osteotomies.png
Types of osteotomy

Project Goals

This project aims to develop and test new methods of operation with an increased quality of the above-mentioned surgical procedures based on precise surgical planning and implementation. Using a robotized sensory analysis of force and pressure conditions in the knee joint, a surgical plan that includes both an optimally located osteotomy (cutting plane or curve) and an optimal correction angle is automatically generated. For the cutting process new technologies are used that exceed the conventional methods in terms of quality (surface smoothness) of the cut surfaces and thermal effects during the cutting process. The water jet cutting is a technology that meets both these conditions and will be further developed and tested for this clinical application. Guiding the water jet cutting instrument is performed with high precision by a robot that eventually performs the motion correction using a force-torque sensor, X-ray imaging and surgical navigation.


waterjet-osteotomy.png
Osteotomy performed with a waterjet

In a first step, we developed a method for pressure prediction within the knee. From CT scans of the knee we create a detailed surface model of the knee. This model serves as the basis for a pressure analysis using the Rigid Body Spring Model Method (RBSMM). Femur and tibia are modeled as rigid bodies. The cartilage within the knee is modeled as a series of springs, which are uniformly distributed on the tibia plateau. Using the method of virtual displacement, for a global input force F it is possible to determine the local spring force for each spring. All local spring forces together build a surface pressure distribution, which is visualized in the following figure.
pressure_3d.jpg
Pressure distribution on the tibia plateau

Further Information


It took 0.2s to generate this page.

Institut für
Robotik und Prozessinformatik

Deutsch   English

Umstellungsosteotomien am Unterschenkel

Projektbeschreibung

Problemstellung

In Kooperation mit der Unfallchirurgischen Klinik der Medizinischen Hochschule Hannover(External) und dem Institut für Werkstoffkunde der Leibniz Universität Hannover(External) werden in diesem Projekt neuartige Verfahren für roboterunterstützte Korrekturoperationen bei Fehlstellungen der unteren Extrimitäten erforscht.

Angeborene oder z.B. nach Frakturen oder Tumoren erworbene Fehlstellungen der unteren Extremitäten des menschlichen Skeletts führen unter Belastung in der Regel zu einer ungleichmäßigen Druckverteilung in den angrenzenden Gelenken (Knie/Hüfte). Bleiben diese Fehlstellungen unbehandelt, kommt es in der Folge nicht selten zu Abnutzungserscheinungen, die schließlich einen Gelenkersatz erforderlich machen. Eine rechtzeitig durchgeführte und erfolgreiche Korrekturoperation kann somit dazu beitragen, die Prothesenimplantation zu vermeiden oder zumindest entscheidend zu verzögern. Die exakte Herstellung der optimalen Druckverteilung im Knie ist ein entscheidender Faktor für eine erfolgreiche Operation mit den gewünschten positiven Langzeitergebnissen beim Patienten. Allerdings stehen intraoperativ derzeit keine Hilfsmittel zur Verfügung, mit denen die Druckverteilung bei belastetem Knie zuverlässig gemessen werden könnte. Darüber hinaus ist die unter biomechanischen Gesichtspunkten optimale Osteotomieform (Schnittführung) der Focal-dome Osteotomie aufgrund der schwierigen technischen Durchführung klinisch nicht etabliert, sodass in der Praxis auf andere, suboptimale Osteotomieformen ausgewichen wird.

osteotomies.png
Osteotomieformen

Zielsetzung

Ziel dieses Projekts ist die Entwicklung und Erprobung neuartiger Operationsmethoden, durch die eine Steigerung der Qualität der oben genannten chirurgischen Eingriffe erreicht werden kann, indem eine präzise OP-Planung und OP-Durchführung gewährleistet wird. Mithilfe einer robotisch-/sensorischen Analyse der Kraft-/Belastungsverteilung im Kniegelenk wird automatisch ein Operationsplan generiert, der sowohl eine optimal platzierte Osteotomie (Schnittebene bzw. -kurve) als auch einen optimalen Korrekturwinkel beinhaltet. Bei der Schnittführung sollen neue Technologien zum Einsatz kommen, die die konventionellen Methoden hinsichtlich Qualität (Oberflächenglätte) der Schnittflächen und thermischer Effekte während des Schneidprozesses übertreffen. Das Wasserstrahlschneiden ist eine Technologie, die beide Bedingung erfüllt und die im Rahmen dieses Antrags für diese klinische Anwendung weiterentwickelt und erprobt werden soll. Das Führen des Wasserstrahlschneidinstruments wird hochpräzise durch einen Roboter erfolgen, der schließlich auch die Korrekturbewegung unter Verwendung von Kraft-/Momentensensorik, Röntgenbildgebung und chirurgischer Navigation durchführt.


waterjet-osteotomy.png
Wasserstrahlosteotomie

In einem ersten Schritt haben wir ein Verfahren zur Druckvorhersage innerhalb des Knies entwickelt. Aus CT-Aufnahmen des Knies erstellen wir ein detailliertes Oberflächenmodell des Knies. Dieses Modell dient als Grundlage für eine Druckanalyse mit Hilfe der Rigid Body Spring Model Methode (RBSMM). Femur und Tibia werden hierbei als starre Körper modelliert. Das Knorpelgewebe innerhalb des Knies wird als eine Reihe von Federn modelliert, die auf der Tibiaoberfläche gleichverteilt werden. Für eine Eingangskraft F kann nun mit Hilfe der Methode der virtuellen Verschiebung eine lokale Federkraft für jede Feder berechnet werden. Die Gesamtheit der lokalen Federkräfte resultiert dann in einer Oberflächendruckverteilung, wie sie in der folgenden Abbildung visualisiert ist.

pressure_3d.jpg
Druckverteilung auf dem Tibiaplateau

Weitere Informationen


It took 0.3s to generate this page.